top of page

'Achieving The Impossible' - WordPromptChallenge

A tempered heart and iron-will

I set out your way with a simple dream:

I wanted to find love.

They tried to tell me it wasn't possible

That it would be like trying to shape-shift

I thought about how you'd changed me so…

And laughed them off as naïve

They tried to warn me that no man could fly,

That some things weren't to be:

Thinking of your wolfish grin

I thanked them with my tongue in cheek

And continued to soar away

On and on it ran this way,

With them telling me how hopeless it was-

That I was seeking the utterly insane

But with all you did and all I felt

I became thoroughly convinced of it:

Nothing in this world was impossible

Then you morphed into somebody new

And all my illusions shattered

You clipped my wings and grounded that flight

And in the mirror I met an unfamiliar sight

Another someone I no longer knew

Gazed back at me and laughed with a cry

'They'd always known better than you!'

What I'd tried had been no different

Than attempting to master alchemy

As silly an endeavour as could have been

Since attempting to squeeze back in toothpaste

For a while I'd thought I was winning the game

That your love I sought was mine to be had-

Turns out, when high on desire and despair

A western sunrise makes not for a liar

The stranger I faced looked on with scorn

And cursed me for the fool I was

When I bent a knee and tucked my head

And prayed for more impossibles:

If I could turn back time, I thought

Then for sure I would do it differently

So when I found myself alone

At least I'd know who I was with

Alas

It might have been a day or a year

That I stood there still and unbreathing

And perhaps it would have been a little longer

Were it not for that dear friend:

They took my trembling hands in theirs

And drew my fingers to outreach-

Lo, and behold, to my utter wonder

The hateful stranger did too so

It was icy cold where our fingers touched

And I almost retreated again

But numb I was and starved for feeling

And their hands had left mine not

It took a while, but I held on

And somehow somewhere down the line

A door to warmth reopened

I listened again to the stranger's curses

And discovered they were our heartsong

The stranger I'd thought resented me so

Had actually just been saying:

I really didn't need to fly

I was a good swimmer besides

It wasn't that my teeth were lost

That I couldn't just brush again later;

And what good was gold

For anything but show,

Why couldn't I make steel instead?

It wasn't long after since then

That another metamorphosis occurred

Though bruised and scarred and certainly changed

The stranger became me again

They had been wrong, after all, it seems:

It wasn't impossible to find love…

I'd just been searching in the wrong place

*

What did you think? (Is this a space you want to tell your friends about now? Haha)

Photo by abigail low on Unsplash

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page