top of page

Game Over (Reverse Picture Prompt!)

I call it a reverse picture prompt because unlike the situation where I get an image then try to write a complementary poem, this time, I saw this sketch and thought 'I HAVE A POEM THAT WOULD GO SO WELL WITH THIS'

Voila

I wish I could say that it won't be like this,

That I am completely over the past,

But the door will ring, or my phone will buzz

And I know I will think of you

I will remember how you would always text

No matter the time of day

I'll imagine your scent, reminisce your touch

And think of how I miss you so much

I'll say your name, call out to you

Die a little then at the silence-

Then just as every other night

I'll try to hold back the dam

I'll lay in bed awake throughout

And pray for sleep to arrive

I'll do my best to run away-

Yet the finishing line will be you

All these things, I know you know

I know how it makes you smile

How it thrills your spirit to see the way

I still cling onto yesterday

But guess what, love

Now I'm done

It's been too long

And this marathon has to end

Tonight I'm not going to try to refrain,

Nor fight to dispel the tears

I won't seek to hold a focused sight

Of this darkness all around

When my mind wanders to you,

As it always did and often does

Rivulet by rivulet will slowly descend

But I will not resist the flames

I will not retch at the taste of salt

That will find its way to my lips

And I know that I will miss you some more-

But I will not punish myself

I will not shirk from the sickly feeling

Of the stream on the bridge of my nose

When I turn to my side to find again

That I am all alone

And when the pillow gets a little moist

The puddle I'll make in the dead of the night

I will not flip it to the other side;

I will not try to escape

Because when the last tear finally descends

The night will finally fall silent

And when cold sleep will finally claim me

I will not dream of you

When I wake up the morning after

Exhausted from my dreamless slumber

Yes my mind will be wholly drained

But along with my thoughts at least you'll go too

I will feel empty and I will be hollow

From what exactly, I don't quite know

Maybe fatigue, or joy, or relief

But at least it won't be sorrow

My eyes will be red but I don't mind

My throat will hurt but that's okay

Trembling hands, aching chest

I'll take it all and then some more:

Cheeks that will be scrubbed utterly raw;

The skin, my soul, all washed away

Pink, exposed, vulnerable and true

All completely brand new

Yes

Tonight it will be different

Tonight I'll play to the very end

Until we get to 'Game Over'

Tags:

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page