top of page

I Belong, Too

Dawn will always break, they say

And you see to it they're right

Not only are you the Sun that rises

You shine twice as brightly, too...

And they all forget there had been night.

Look on the bright side, they say

You make everyone see it, too:

You're not just the match that will light the flame

You'll bring mirrors out on the field, too-

And they forget the shadows that had been.

Home is beyond the stormy seas, they say

And you bring good tidings every time:

You're the dove with the olive twig

You'll carry everyone with your strength, too-

And they think they've already docked.

Each cloud has a silver lining, they say

And you prove it every time:

You're the angel that infallibly finds it

In fact, you grasp at the seams oh so tight

And shred away the rainstorms

That I should be like you, they tell me

You radiate happiness all the time

You're everything that's right in the world-

Such simple perfectly perfect perfection

And you make it seem easy to be

But I'm not like you, I tell them

I don't think I could even be

If you're the Sun, I'm Polaris

If you're a flame, I'm a raindrop

If you're a dove, I'm a gull

If you're a storm-breaker, I'm a rainmaker

They think that I don't want to try-

That I'm only making excuses

They frown and boo and jeer at me so

Sometimes I even forget:

I don't live for them.

You might be theirs, but I belong

To the traveler in the night, perhaps

Or the drying dying forest;

The lonely sea-bound sailor, maybe

And the parched and tired nomad

And who knows?

They might just love me, too.

PC: Photo by Axel Antas-Bergkvist on Unsplash

Tags:

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page