top of page

No-Sugar Added Whole Wheat Banana Muffins

So you know how I love bananas?

Besides being part of the divine PB/banana/chocolate combination, other reasons include

  • They can be so sweet. = No need for added sugar

  • Their texture = no need to add crazy loads of butter, either.

  • Okay don't worry I'll stop there. This ode will never end if you let me keep at it, so let's just keep in mind why bananas are the stars of this recipe and get on with it.

Ingredients

  • 5 large mashed bananas

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour

  • 3 eggs (I think you can use flax/chia eggs but I haven't tried this myself)

  • 1 tsp baking powder

  • 1 tsp baking soda

  • 1-2 tsp cinnamon powder

  • 2 tbsp ghee/butter/oil

  • 1 tsp vanilla essence

ingredients-for-muffins

Add-Ins (ideas)

  • Nuts

  • Dry fruit

  • Chocolate chips (but then don't say these muffins are very healthy)

  • Peanut butter! (duh)

  • Chopped fresh fruit, like apple

  • Seeds - sunflower, pumpkin, melon

I wanted to avoid spoiling many utensils so I completely ignored those rules of baking that talk about mixing wet ingredients separately and then adding in dry ones (or is it the other way around) and did what I needed to, to use one container.

Steps

  • Mash bananas in the container

  • Add eggs, vanilla essence and ghee/butter/oil and mix them properly

  • Add the baking powder, baking soda and cinnamon powder next

  • Sift in the flour using a sieve, one cup at a time (this was the part where I saved water by not spoiling the utensils)

final better

  • Mix

  • Grease the slots for muffins in a muffin tray and bake for about 15 minutes at 200C

  • Be obnoxious on social media by showing off photos of your perfect and healthy muffin

Recommended: Hit me with an email, tell your friends about this space, and tag me on Instagram and Facebook when you make these (or even better, send me a sample or two ;))

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page