top of page

An Ode to Friendship

With my belief in consequence and choice

I never quite bought into the stories

That people would tell about how things 'just happen'-

And then I made a friend like you

It's then that I finally understood

About connections from Day One

How people could be so in tune

Having barely exchanged two words

Never before had I thought I would say

'I think we're exactly the same'

Never before had I imagined myself

Ever telling anyone what you know

You found me in a deep dark pit

Of loneliness and frustration

And even before we became 'real' friends

You made the choice to care

You wore your heart out on a sleeve

And allowed me to do the same

You took a chance on a worn-out stranger

And showed her how to trust again

All the times I wanted to talk

About it - still some more

Never once did you run out

Of patience for my pain

You cheered me on to clamber up

Onto my own two feet

Held out a hand and helped me out

Then cheered for me again

Not once did you ask the question

Why had I taken so long?

Not once did you point a finger-

You always understood-

'Thank you' will never be enough

For all you've done for me

Not once, nor a million would suffice

To get the depth of this message through

But still, for all it counts

This must be said:

Dear friend,

Thank you.

You might not believe the things I say

When I tell you how incredible you are

But I really pray someday you will

Glimpse what I see every day

Where you see the ugly weeds

Of doubts and fears and questions

There also blooms a lovely garden

Of warmth and strength and potential

The things you sometimes say you wish

Weren't true about you

Are the very things, you should know

That make me cherish you more

In how you sometimes say out things

Lies a rare and open honesty

In how your emotions take hold of you

Is a heartening glimpse of humanity

I'd write it all if only ink could

Convince you of these truths

But we're the same and so I know

Words won't be enough

But that's okay

'Cause we've got time

And we'll find our roads

Side by side

And by the way?

I'm glad we're doing life together

PC: Photo by Harli Marten on Unsplash

Tags:

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page