top of page

Only You

It generally doesn't feel very good

To have oneself laughed at

But I don't think that I will mind it

If it's laughter coming from you

I also don't know that I would enjoy

Being labeled naïve and foolish

But I think I will be more than okay

If the judgements come from you.

Call me silly, call me blind

I really wouldn't mind

Poke fun at me, mock my fears

Everything's alright

Whatever it is you decide to do

When you look at me…

I guess I've got the point across

But God…I just love you so.

I guess it's because at the end of the day

You know me better than all

Everyone else may mean the best

But only you fully understand:

I love how I don't have to explain

All the roads I've walked

With you I'm glad that I don't have to state

Where I'm coming from

Every belief I've ever held

You already know it all

Everything I could ever imagine

You've thought of it before

And you know what's even crazier than that?

How I know that this is all true-

How I can easily say these things

Without even knowing you

I've no idea what you look like now

No clue about what interests you

I don't know what sorts of things you do

Or if your happiness lies somewhere new-

Do you still like to watch the sky

And imagine movies in the clouds?

Do you still get lost in corridors

Or are your spatial skills better now?

I do not know what you're like now

But this much I've got to say

I'm really hoping that either way

You're happy with who you are

I like to think that still perhaps

I'd recognize you were we to meet

But if I don't that'd still be okay

As long as you are, too

In fact, standing where I am today

That is what I hope for the most

That wherever in life you've found yourself

You're doing alright and more

In fact, I hope you're standing up above

At a pedestal looking down

Where you can drown in laughter from

All the ways I've been so wrong

If I'm brutally honest today

I'm actually hoping that you will

Come to deem me those 'cruel' things

Those words you cannot call others:

Clueless, unwitting, whatever it is

You've got my explicit permission

I'm just praying that it will be because

Finally, you know better

Only you, though

My future self

Only you

This is one of my personal favorites.

I'd love to hear what you think of it!

Tags:

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page