top of page

Overnight Oats

'Overnight oats' is the most concise explanation for why oats feature so often in my breakfast. I know, I know, they sound so boring and 'too healthy', but maan, they've become one of my favorite things! They're so versatile! I'm going to pull the cliché about how they're like a blank canvas to do whatever you feel like, but it's only because it's true. You can grind them up into flour and use in baking, or mix with banana to make granola (recipe here) or…yes, make whatever-flavored overnight oats.

I'm only going to give you the DL on one idea, but there's a bazillion more things you can do - and I'm not going to make sense if I keep trying to describe this, so let's just get to the recipe(s).

'Canvas' Ingredients

  • Oats - quantity depends on how much you want to eat, but you also don't want to overdo it. I think 1/2 a cup of dry oats is the absolute maximum.

  • Milk - I like a ratio of 1.5 parts milk to 1 part oats if using yogurt, or else 2:1

  • Yogurt - about 0.5 parts (or even less), optional

That's it.

Mix them up and leave them to stand…drumroll, please, overnight. Le gasp.

Okay, that's the bare minimum you'd want, but if you end up mixing this and eating it, it's not because I recommended, or even suggested it. That's on you. I'm going to give you my top 3 favorite combinations, but again, if you Google for 'overnight oats', you'll get a billion more.

One more thing, actually - some recipes will call for using half water half milk, but I feel it's too watery and not creamy and hearty and satisfying at all - and also I'm not on the anti-milk team so you won't get that from me - but feel free to try it out. If it suits you, why not.

Option 1: PB and Chocolate (+/- banana)

Add the following to your basic mix:

  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder

  • 1 tbsp (or more) peanut butter

  • A tiny pinch of salt

  • 1 sliced banana

  • 1 tbsp chia seeds, optional

picture of chocolate overnight oats

Option 2: 'Basic' Banana Oatmeal

  • 1 sliced banana

  • 1 tsp (or more!) cinnamon

  • Any kind of nut you've got on hand - almonds, walnuts etc. , optional

  • 1 tbsp chia seeds, optional

Option 3: 'Carrot Cake' Oatmeal

  • 2 heaped tbsp grated carrot

  • 1 tsp cinnamon (or more, or less, it depends on you)

  • 1 tsp ginger (again, quantity depends on you, but don't put too little)

  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg, ground cloves

  • 1-2 tbsp raisins

  • 1 tbsp chia seeds, optional

picture of carrot cake overnight oats

Other notes:

  • I haven't mentioned sugar in here at all - but if you feel like it's needed for sweetness, feel free to add a little bit. Just don't overdo it though - or, at least, don't delude yourself into thinking you've had a 'healthy breakfast' and think about doing this daily as a means to achieve your fitness goals.

  • You can consider adding dates for sweetness. I adore banana and it does the trick for me, but explore other fruits/dry fruits

  • I like my oats to have crunch, too, so I also like to add some sunflower and pumpkin seeds on the top before eating.

  • Chia seeds are optional but I recommend them particularly if you want some yogurt with its vitamin B12 goodness, because they soak up water and leave you with something thick-ish.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page