top of page

Write Me Out a Letter

Write me out a letter

Maybe you won't get out as many strokes

As fast as you could with a keyboard

But it isn't just all your words, you see

That would mean the world to me-

It's all that time you'd be giving up

That investment that has no return

There may be no dearth in your affection

In quick texts on the go

But it's so damn easy and I'd rather know

Through all the words you write to me

That even when the day has closed

When you could be doing anything at all

I am present in your thoughts

It might turn out a messy jumble-

With ink that's smudged and paper that's torn

But truth be told it's all those things;

Your scratches and scribbles, pauses and gaps

Maybe even the stains from your tears,

They're everything I want to see-

I want your unfiltered truth

Conversations in person, held face to face

Do indeed hold their own special place

But we are human, you and I

And the mortal mind can forget-

With your letter you'd give me an aid,

To help me remember exactly what you said...

Won't you give me this memory for a lifetime?

Maybe now it's getting too much…

But I'm not done so here we go-

I want some more from you

I want the words, this memory to hold

Such that it will be wholly mine-

So write me this letter, and seal it away

Don't scan or photograph it please

Of course, that way, you'd never revisit

The things you say to me

But what does it matter if it's from the heart?

The thing is, for me, it would mean so much

To receive from you what you cannot retouch

Recall, rephrase, there's nothing you could do

To taint the first essence of your words

I know that it can be daunting, my dear

To send out those words for good

But don't you worry, don't you be afraid

I won't hold you down in bond-

It really will not matter if

Your heartsong changes thereafter

I just want that spirit that lived that minute

To receive an eternal tribute

Nothing in this world is absolute

So don't you fret about that

Even if you write me a letter

I won't hold you to forever-

It's just that this way you could help me trust

That once, at least, there was a time

When you truly felt that way

It's easy.

If you really care that much

There's a simple way to tell me

Draw out a sheet

Grab hold of your pen

Position your hand and get prepared

Then write me out a letter.

Write me out a letter

Give me one piece of your heart

To keep with me forever

Tags:

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
bottom of page